The fading rays of the late afternoon sun illuminated the beauty of two 18th architectural gems from Cecil’s past on this fine Saturday in mid-April. The Perry Point Mansion and Mill were built about 1750 by the Thomas family. They sold the 1,800 acre property to the Stump family in 1800. When it was occupied by John Stump II, the Union Army took over the point, using it as a training camp for Army mules. In 1918, the family sold their attractively situated farm, which was then only 516 acres, to the United States Government for $150,000 to be used for the site of an explosives plant. After the Armistice Perry Point was used as a rehabilitation center, supply depot, and psychiatric hospital.
Source: National Register of Historic Places